FocusMe Community
Solved: Settings password - Printable Version

+- FocusMe Community (https://community.focusme.com)
+-- Forum: Categories (https://community.focusme.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Suggestions and Feedback (https://community.focusme.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Solved: Settings password (/showthread.php?tid=2912)



Solved: Settings password - intothewild89 - 03-24-2019

Hi. I've been messing around with the FocusMe features and I love what it does. The ability to add websites via Blacklist while a plan is currently in effect is exactly what I've been looking for, and the K9 software doesn't work reliably enough while FocusMe does. What's keeping me from buying the subscription version is the inability to lock the Settings tab in the FocusMe program hub. While I can password protect the Plans (which is great!), I'm still able to access the Settings tab and uninstall FocusMe as my own liesure. I'm trying to use FocusMe for self moderation of websites, and since I'm able to access all these Settings, it's a deal breaker for me. Is there, or will there ever be a feature to password protect the Settings tab in the future? Thanks, Jon!


RE: Settings password - jon - 03-24-2019

Hi, glad you are enjoying FocusMe! Smile

What you should find, is that while you have plans that are enabled you can not actually do anything like disable the 'Uninstall Protection' or any of the other protections. Did you not notice this or is this not working for you? In order to troubleshoot this it would be best if we do that over our support. Thanks


RE: Settings password - intothewild89 - 03-24-2019

(03-24-2019, 10:43 PM)jon Wrote: Hi, glad you are enjoying FocusMe! Smile

What you should find, is that while you have plans that are enabled you can not actually do anything like disable the 'Uninstall Protection' or any of the other protections. Did you not notice this or is this not working for you? In order to troubleshoot this it would be best if we do that over our support. Thanks

Thanks Jon. I was actually on the way to discovering this. Once I set my blacklist Plan up to run 24 hours, I noticed I wasn't able to alter those settings like you said. I had to disable the task manager and make it close upon opening instead of minimizing. I was finding that once minimized, I could open it up again real quick and close FocusMe out within a second or two. Setting the option to simply close the task manager once opened fixed this since it never shows any of the running processes. I tested the software to see if it remained running even after a reboot and it does, which is great. I have my Administrator account set up with a password I've emailed to myself with FutureMe.org, so no chance of uninstalling the software now unless I reinstall Windows. If I come across anything else I'll contact the support link you've provided. Thanks - and thanks for creating this software! K9 no longer works like it should and you've convinced me to switch.


RE: Settings password - jon - 03-26-2019

Great to hear it's all working for you now! FutureMe.org is a handy site. That could be useful to our other users. Thanks for sharing!